You are not currently logged in.

Access JSTOR through your library or other institution:


Log in through your institution.


Journal of the American Musicological Society

Vol. 64, No. 3, December 2009

Stable URL:

Table of Contents

Export Selected Citations
  1. DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.cover
    Stable URL:
  2. Front Matter (pp. i-iii)
    DOI: 10.1525/
    Stable URL:
  3. Table of Contents (pp. iv-v)
    DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.toc
    Stable URL:
  4. Articles
  5. Reviews
    • Review (pp. 239-244)
      The Orchestral Revolution: Haydn and the Technologies of Timbre by Emily I. Dolan
      Review by: Jonathan de Souza
      DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.239
      Stable URL:
    • Review (pp. 244-250)
      Choral Fantasies: Music, Festivity, and Nationhood in Nineteenth-Century Germany by Ryan Minor
      Review by: Donna M. Di Grazia
      DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.244
      Stable URL:
    • Review (pp. 250-257)
      The Psychophysical Ear: Music Experiments, Experimental Sounds, 1840–1910 by Alexandra Hui; Helmholtz and the Modern Listener by Benjamin Steege
      Review by: Leslie David Blasius
      DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.250
      Stable URL:
    • Review (pp. 257-266)
      The Oxford Handbook of Sound Studies by Trevor Pinch, Karin Bijsterveld; The Sound Studies Reader by Jonathan Sterne
      Review by: William Cheng
      DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.257
      Stable URL:
  6. Digital and Multimedia Scholarship
    • Cantus Planus Regensburg by David Hiley; Corpus Antiphonalium Officii-Ecclesiae Centralis Europae by László Dobszay, Gábor Prószéky; CANTUS: A Database for Latin Ecclesiastical Chant by Debra Lacoste, Jan Koláček, Kate Helsen; Global Chant Database by Jan Koláček; The CANTUS Index by Jan Koláček, Debra Lacoste, Elsa De Luca, Kate Helsen
      Review by: Alison Altstatt
      DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.267
      Stable URL:
    • Work and Pray: Living the Psalms with the Nuns of Regina Laudis by Margot Fassler; Performing the Passion: J. S. Bach and the Gospel According to John by Margot Fassler, Jacqueline C. Richard; You Can't Sing It for Them: Continuity, Change, and a Church Musician by Margot Fassler, Jacqueline C. Richard
      Review by: Philip V. Bohlman
      DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.286
      Stable URL:
    • Computer Music and Digital Audio Series 23 by David Cope; Music21: A Toolkit for Computer-Aided Musicology by Michael Cuthbert
      Review by: Ian Quinn
      DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.295
      Stable URL:
  7. DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.308
    Stable URL:
  8. Publications Received (pp. 310-315)
    DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.310
    Stable URL:
  9. DOI: 10.1525/jams.2014.67.1.316
    Stable URL: